St. Mary of Perpetual Help ChurchPrint
1039 W. 32nd St. | Neighborhood: Bridgeport / Back of the Yards
St. Mary of Perpetual Help Catholic Church was founded in 1882 to serve the Polish families of Bridgeport. Designed by Henry Engelbert of Detroit, it was consecrated on October 24, 1903 by Archbishop James Quigley. The architectural style of the exterior is Romanesque with decorative brick and stone corbelling. The interior is Byzantine and resembles a Greek Cross with half domes and arches that surround a 113-foot high central dome. The dome is made entirely of wooden construction with ornamental copper and is lit by a ring of lantern windows. The lavishly shaped and decorated nave is enriched with Stations of the Cross, statuary and the original stained glass windows by Joseph Artmaier. Fine scagliola work, decorative stenciling and murals by John Mallin, elaborate altars and a suspended pulpit topped by a cupola also decorate the nave and sanctuary. The Austin organ was installed in 1928.
Behind the Scenes Access: Step inside this unique church full of incredible artwork celebrating its 130th anniversary.
Architect: Henry Engelbert, 1903